Home>>Belgium Map>>Brussels Metro Map

Brussels Metro Map ( Click the map to enlarge it !)

Brussels Metro Map

The Brussels Metro (French: M¨¦tro de Bruxelles, Dutch: Brusselse metro) is a rapid transit system serving a large part of the Brussels-Capital Region of Belgium. It consists of a network with four metro line services with some shared sections. The metro has 49.9 km of network and 59 stations. The premetro network in Brussels consists of two underground sections used by otherwise open-air Brussels tram lines and designed so as to be convertible to conventional metro lines. Underground stations in the premetro network use the same design as metro stations. Additionally, a few short underground tramway sections exist, which makes 51.9 km of metro and underground tram network and 69 metro and premetro stations as of 2008.

Most of the common section of the first two metro lines (between De Brouck¨¨re metro station and Schuman station) was inaugurated on December 17, 1969 as premetro (thus with tramways), and was converted in 1976 to the first two lines of the actual metro (which was then considered as one line with two branches) between De Brouckere and Tomberg and De Brouck¨¨re and Beaulieu. The Brussels metro is administered by STIB/MIVB . In 2008 the Brussels metro has been used for a total of 135.5 million journeys.The Brussels metro is an important means of transportation in Brussels, which connects with 6 railway stations of the National Railway Company of Belgium, as well as with many Brussels tram and bus stops operated by STIB/MIVB and with Flemish De Lijn and Walloon TEC bus stops.

The metro system has 4 conventional metro lines. There are, as of 2008, 59 stations on the metro network (not including premetro). Most of those stations are underground though some of them on lines 5 and 6 are located at ground level. On 4 April 2009, the connection at Gare de l'Ouest/Weststation that enables line 2 to form a circular line was put into service. As a consequence, the metro network was significantly reorganised. The development plan for this change and related tram and bus network changes was approved by the Brussels Capital Region in July 2005.

As of April 4, 2009 the four lines are as follows:
Line 1 runs from Gare de l'Ouest/Weststation to the west of Brussels to Stockel/Stokkel at the east end (this section was formerly part of line 1B);

Line 2 is a loop starting and ending in Simonis via the eastern side of the small ring road (this is an extension of former line 2 from Delacroix north-bound to Simonis);

Line 5 runs from Erasme/Erasmus to the south-west of Brussels to Herrmann-Debroux to the south-east (this combines parts of former lines 1A and 1B);

Line 6 runs from Roi Baudouin/Koning Boudewijn to the north-west of Brussels to Simonis (including the loop of the newly extended line 2; this combines the former line 2, the new connection, and a branch of the former line 1A).

Line 3 and Line 4 are actually tram lines using the North-South Axis tunnel which crosses the city center from the Brussels-North railway station to the Brussels-South railway station and further to the Albert premetro station. Line 3 runs from the Churchill stop south of Brussels to the Esplanade stop at the north end of Brussels. Line 4 runs from the Brussels-North railway station north of Brussels to the Stalle car park at the south end.

Line 7 is the main line of the Brussels greater ring, replacing Tram 23 and Tram 24 as of march 14 2011. It services the Heysel/Heizel, runs under the Laeken Parc and then via the greater ring all the way to the terminus of Line 3 to terminate one stop later at Vanderkindere where it offers connections to tram lines 3, 4 and 92.