Home>>Canada Atlas>>Yukon Map

Canada Provinces and Territories Maps

Yukon Canada Map

Canada Map    Canada Political Map    Canada Region Map    Canada Relief Map    Canada Google Map

Yukon is the westernmost and smallest of Canada's three federal territories.

The territory was created from the rump of the Hudson's Bay Company's North-Western Territory in 1898 as "the Yukon". Receiving royal assent on March 27, 2002, the federal government modernized the Yukon Act to confirm "Yukon", rather than "Yukon Territory", as the current usage standard. Though officially bilingual (English and French), the Yukon Government also recognizes First Nations languages.

At 5,959 m (19,551 ft), Yukon's Mount Logan, in Kluane National Park and Reserve, is the highest mountain in Canada and the second-highest of North America (after Denali in the U.S. state of Alaska). The territory's climate is Arctic in the north (north of Old Crow), subarctic in the central region, between north of Whitehorse and Old Crow, and has a humid continental climate in the far south, south of Whitehorse and in areas close to the BC border.